Paralyzed From The Inside Out


Paralyzed from the inside out.

My brain is functioning yet my body can’t move. Glued to the couch unable to even change the channel with the remote. I want a cigarette but can’t lift my arm to light it.

 

I can feel my insides shake nervously. Rapidly. My heart is beating a mile a minute yet I can’t move my body. My head is unfocused. The television is in front of me making blurred sounds and images.

 

I pray. I cry. I take deep breaths.

 

Finally, I can move just enough to get to the pill bottle and swallow anti-anxiety meds, I manage to sit up and wait. I fall back down.

 

It passes. Now I am worn out from the experience. Tired.

 

Whew.

2 Responses to Paralyzed From The Inside Out

  1. The Girl Next Door says:

    hi Rich,

    I love the photo and assume based on the writing you are doing and photography that you are ‘hanging in there’.

    keep it going, you know how much i like reading the things that you write. I think of you often.

Leave a Reply

