Heat Again


I hate the summer. I hate the summer in New Jersey. I hate the heat and humidity in New Jersey in the summer. Maybe I don’t hate the summer as much as I hate what it brings to me. I’ve lived in New Jersey most of my life with the exception of Philadelphia and it’s the same there.

 

I did have a brief stay in San Francisco, California. I spent an entire summer there and I loved it. It was summer. It was hot. The humidity was low enough that I didn’t break a sweat. I want that. No humidity. Northern California seems to be the best weather for me.

 

I wonder why I feel like I suffer and complain about it more than most people that live in New Jersey in the summer. I know that when I am heavier the humidity affects me more than when I weigh less. It still annoys me. I am naturally a sweat machine. I drink water non stop all day because I drink coffee. I know the coffee can dehydrate me and make me sweat but not like I do. Why does my body react so bad to the Jersey heat? I know someone that loves to sweat and the hotter the better. It’s 102 degrees Farenheit  or 39 Celcius today. People are purposely outside enjoying the sweat and the sun burning their skin. I helped my mom out moving things around for over an hour on the non-air conditioned floor of the house. I drove up and back with no air conditioning in my car. When I arrived home I was soaking wet from head to toe. I had to drink several glasses of water and stay still to avoid feeling sick. Why? Why my body?

 

I don’t ask why in a “poor me” way. I ask because I want to know why. I’ve always assumed it was genes. It’s not a learned behavior because everyone I’ve known growing up has never had a problem like me. People complain about the heat when it’s like today but then they are outside all of the time enjoying the heat and the sun.

 

I’ve done some internet research through the years and I’ve found massive amounts o other people talking about the same problem and asking the same questions. No answers. I’ve found out about heat related disorders and how to handle the heat but nothing about why certain people are sensitive to it. I’ve always thought that it might be my bloodline. My heritage. My ancestor’s are from colder climates. It doesn’t seem to be directly genetic. My family can handle the heat way better than I can. They don’t like it but it doesn’t seem to affect them the same as me.

 

So I’ll just keep drinking water and try to stay in as much as possible. When I have to go out then I’ll deal with it. It’s better than writing a blog complaining about it. Oh. I just did.

 

 

 

One Response to Heat Again

  1. Chris says:

    Dude.. I live in NJ too and I’m right there with you. Sweat like crazy. I lived in Vegas for 3 years and total opposite – it can be 105 and 10% humidity and I’m feeling fine, dry! Humidity is evil to folks like us! And my wife says I complain about the humidity too much.. If she only knew!

Leave a Reply

