Hey Richie. It’s Your Birthday.


Happy birthday to me. Happy birthday to me. Happy birthday dear unemployed, middle aged, overweight yet still good looking Rich Hillen Jr. Happy birthday to me.

I love my birthday. I always have as far back as I can remember. I used to like it for the gifts and the attention. Ha. I still like it for the gifts and attention but they fade as I get older. Family stops sending those funny cards with the checks or cash. Friends don’t give friends gifts for birthdays. Male friends don’t. It’s part of the bro code. Parties are generally saved for milestone birthdays: 21, 25, 30, 40, 50 etc.

I believe that everyone should love their birthday not just me. It’s the one holiday that transcends religious beliefs, country patriotism and corporate created holidays. It’s a day in the year that everyone of every race, religion, location etc. has in common the celebration of our birth. I know that I am stating the obvious but sometimes it needs to be said.

Despite my reclusiveness the past few years I still want to throw a birthday party every year. I threw one last year and I heard a friend say that he’s not going because I throw one every year. So does he on Halloween. Who cares? My point of having one last year was to celebrate my friendships and give back. I paid for the food and drinks so it wasn’t about gifts or even attention. Some people missed the point and some got it and some just wanted to see me on my birthday. I was surprised on both ends: who showed up and who didn’t.

I wanted to throw a birthday party this year since I have a whole house of my own (I rent with a room mate) but I have a lot less money this year and I have lost most social contacts. I doubt many people would show. Well, not as many people would show as they would of when I was more social.

I know I bash Facebook a lot but like MySpace and most social networks we get reminders of peoples birthdays and we can post a simple “happy birthday” easily and give and receive a little joy almost every day. Some could see it as a cop out and we should remember our friends birthdays and on some level it is but the other side is that in our fast paced lives (not mine) it is hard to keep track of everyone’s birthday. It also helps with new friend learning their birthdays.

If you share this special day, May 1st, as your birthday also then happy birthday to you. If you are reading this on your birthday then happy birthday. Do something special for yourself on your birthday.

FAMOUS PEOPLE BORN ON MAY  1ST

Glenn Ford

Debi Diamond

Antonio Banderas

Kate Smith

Julie Benz

Rita Coolidge

Jack Paar

Judy Collins

Ray Parker Jr

Terry Southern

Calamity Jane

Tim McGraw

3 Responses to Hey Richie. It’s Your Birthday.

  1. The girl next door says:

    Happy Birthday Rich!

    I LOVE YOUR CAKE!!!!! Me, I have two special people born in the month of May; 13th and 17th.

    Hmmmm,I have missed conversing with you. I will be back around sometime and I hope you will have time for me. Take care. Me.

  2. The girl next door says:

    Yes, always take a photo of the cake! You will never regrat that. Through the years I’ve done the same and am so happy because most likely there will never be another!

    Oh, I have three special people whose birtdays are in May! The two named above and YOU!

    Yes, I’m reading it and would certainly like to see the one you lost replaced in some capacity albeit with my favorite stuff! hahha

    I know I know I’m being selfish, but you could kick it off to a favorite fetish if mine; spanking and foot worship! wooohoo!

Leave a Reply

