Fed Up With Facebook? Me Too. Novaboon.com is where its at


Ok. I am totally fed up with facebook.com. I joined reluctantly years ago because my friends were all going over there and abandoned My Space. I loved MySpace as it was a few years ago. Easy to use. Band friendly. Although they had some restrictions on photo content and removed some photos without explanation it I was fairly ok with it. I also loved the blog features and had a following reading my blogs.

 

Facebook became addicting. All of my friends were on there and some family too. I felt a little restricted at first but eventually said fuck it and posted whatever. For a time I wanted to just have people I knew as friends but when I published my book and started my own blog site I wanted to promote my stuff and began adding friends like ad. This is when he problems started.

 

Facebook has since been on me about adding too many friends saying that I was a spammer and they want it to be a friends and family site. What if I want to make new friends? I did make new friends across the globe. I go on and off friend adding probation. Then I was on messaging probation for sending our my links to my blog and my books. I get messages all of the time from people promoting things. Then the photo removals started happening. I never could figure out what photo and they do not tell you.

 

This is the latest letter I received:

 

Hello,

 

You uploaded a profile picture that violates our Terms of Use, and this picture has been removed. Facebook does not allow photos that attack an individual or group, or that contain nudity, drug use, violence, or other violations of the Terms of Use. These policies are designed to ensure Facebook remains a safe, secure and trusted environment for all users, including the many children who use the site.

 

If you have any questions or concerns, you can visit our FAQ page at http://www.facebook.com/help/?topic=wphotos.

 

The Facebook Team

 

Ok great. I have hundreds of pics and yes I know I have some borderline photos bit no sexually graphic or violent or racist pics like they forbid. I tried to find out more with the link above and it says nothing. A lot of words but no explanations.

 

Here’s the help page info:

 

Help Center

 

Warning – Photos

 

What kinds of photos does Facebook remove?

Photos are removed if they contain nudity, drug use or other obscene c…

Photos are removed if they contain nudity, drug use or other obscene content. If the photo attacks another individual or group, it will be removed as well.

 

Can I see the removed content?

Unfortunately, for technical and security reasons, users cannot view t…

Unfortunately, for technical and security reasons, users cannot view the removed content.

 

Please go through your profile and make sure to take down any other offensive or objectionable material that violates our Terms of Use. For more information on conduct prohibited by Facebook, please read our ‘terms’ (linked to at the bottom of any page).

 

Does Facebook remove everything that gets reported?

Facebook reviews every report we receive to determine whether or not t…

Facebook reviews every report we receive to determine whether or not the content violates our Terms of Use. Any content that is considered obscene, violent, malicious or otherwise offensive will be removed. If you received a warning about an item that was taken down, then we have established that it violated these terms.

 

Was that helpful? No. This is has been an issue for over 6 months now. So I talked to my friend, now housemate, about starting a social network of our own. After business plan revisions, programming, researching and a lot of hard work, Seth Rosen and I launched NovaBoon – World’s Best Unrestricted Social Network on November 1st 2010 We waited a few days to invite people and we have been growing steadily since last Friday. http://novaboon.com

 

Our motto is “Escape from the social networking jail with Novaboon.”

 

We are looking for people fed up with the restrictions and harassments of the other sites and want a new place to do anything they want basically within legal limits. All are welcome. It might be too unrestricted for some and that’s fine. Were not trying to compete with facebook. We just want a place for people that are more expressive and want more freedom to go to.

 

To quote my partner, Seth Rosen “NovaBoon.com a place for facebook parolees and MySpace refugees.

 

Join now if you are even slightly fed up and not offended easily.

 

http://novaboon.com

 

One Response to Fed Up With Facebook? Me Too. Novaboon.com is where its at

Leave a Reply

