Last Day by Cam MacDonald


I’m a little too sick or anxious to write today so I am posting a poem from my friend Cam MacDonald. It’s about . . .you figure it out.

Last Day?

What will happen tomorrow
Will it be tomorrow or some other day
After waiting 159 days it doesn’t feel real
Caught up in a Sweep
profiled for being the best
punished for 14 year old sins
Here I await fiending like a junkie
scanning the headlights for the Man
keys jingle and doors slam

So many days morphed into right now
So much pain and boredom
distilled into to each into each moment
The small hope of small freedom
is all that feeds me
My cell is real in its filthy haphazardness
and in its protection from the outside

Its more real than but no less restricting
than all the other imposed by me
and those I let imposed on me
the Clinic with its liquid handcuffs
the junk with its sickness and never ending hunger
the promise of riches tomorrow but never today
the women who I won’t let love me
the son who I love and loves me
the darkside who always wins
the people I hate for being human
but most of all myself for being so selfish

So right so wrong but always doomed
Soon some shitbag will crack my cell
and tell me to pack it up
and then the real sentence starts
but will the small hope
still lingering in the smell of spring earth
and a girls perfume and…….

Art by Rich Hillen Jr 2000

Leave a Reply

