If The Underground Becomes Mainstream then the Mainstream must be the New Underground


Is it just my rebelliousness or am I just a living contradiction? I keep going back and forth with the things that interest me. One minute I’ll like it and the next I don’t like it. The reasons I start not liking things is usually because of the popularity of it or the individuals that I’ve met that are into these things.

When the “Underground”. “Subversives”, “Freaks”, and everything considered “Subculture” become “hip” and acceptable to mainstream it makes me less interested. Meeting the people in any click or group that use whatever it is they are interested in to make themselves look or feel cool really turns me off. It’s like that in any scene I guess. Every group has clicks and there are a couple people in them that aren’t like that one on one. I guess the whole click mentality is something I don’t want any part of anymore.

There was a time I wanted to be hip and part of the scene. I was briefly. I found the people to be uninteresting for the most part. I dropped out and did my own thing.

I love horror movies. Lately, I am less interested in going to the conventions or talking about the movies. It’s like everyone’s jumped on the bandwagon and it suddenly turns me off. I’ve been going to these things for over ten years and now because there are conventions closer to my area everyone is going. For some reason that turns me off. It’s just another scene to me now.

I used to love getting tattoos. I got what I wanted and covered my upper arms with them. I even started pretty late on this but it was for me not to be part of anything. The more people I see covered in tattoos the less I want one. I used to go to tattoo conventions and I am less interested now. I lost interest in them. I have 2 gift certificates I received over 3 years ago and haven’t turned them in. Sometimes I even regret having my tattoos. It’s just another scene to me now.

I love sideshows. You know with sword swallowing, fire breathing, bug eating, human blockheads etc. I wanted to be part of that scene for years. I loved traveling to Coney Island, NY to the Sideshow by the Seashore and watch once a year or so. Again after hanging out with the people and seeing it get more popular and mainstream I lost interest. It’s just another scene to me now.

I love Burlesque and pin-up models. Again I get to know them and see the same clicks as I’ve mentioned before I get turned off. The modern revival is becoming too popular. It’s just another scene.

My interest in serial killers has lessened too. I’ve really lost all interest in this one even though I ironically sing about them when I perform my solo acoustic act every so often. I don’t know if it was the popularity factor on this one or I just simply lost interest. John Marr, creator and author of the infamous comic Murder Can Be Fun(not the guitarist or the Smiths) once told me that after years of writing about serial killers it became a formula. Filling the blank serial killer killed fill in the blank number of prostitutes using fill in the blank method. It was the most difficult kind of scene to pin down to type of person but it is just another scene.

I used to love comic books. Superhero comic books especially and I gave them up years ago when everyone started collecting thinking it would make them money. Don’t get me wrong a lot people collect them because they love to read them. Once I saw the popularity grow I stopped reading and going to conventions until I published my own. It’s just another scene.

My list goes on and on. I still like tattoos, Burlesque, sideshows, comic books, and horror movies. Sometimes I hate all of these things. I’m probably going to piss off some people reading this that may be part of a scene that I mentioned but then again if you’re the type of person to take the time to read my writings then you are probably and individual whether you are part of that scene or not.

I have a lot of friends with these interests and in these scenes and many other scenes that I totally love and respect. I’m just expressing how I feel which is on and off day by day concerning my own interests.

2 Responses to If The Underground Becomes Mainstream then the Mainstream must be the New Underground

  1. the old saying goes that “familiarity breeds contempt”. it’s why people fall in love and over time, fall out.

    • richhillenjr says:

      “familiarity breeds contempt” I should have titled this with that quote. You can fall in and out of love with places and things too. Not just people. Ahh. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

