Justina – Purest Evil


I wrote this in 2005 about a girl who participated in a murder in 2003 that I wrote a song about for my old band the World Famous Crawlspace Brothers. Unfortunately, I can’t seem to upload the mp3 to WordPress and I haven’t made a video of it yet. Yet.

Thursday, March 03, 2005

Justina

I was exiting Starbucks in Olde City ( the one that took away the business of the smaller coffee shops) and I looked at the Newspaper box on the corner. I never look at the newspaper or the box but yesterday I did. I saw this pretty teenage face of a girl on the cover. The headline read “Purest Evil”. Hmmm. I was curious. It went on: The Chilling Testimony From Teen Temptress In Fishtown Murder Case. Interesting, I thought. How Much? Sixty cents. Yup. I bought it. I couldn’t wait to read it. I ran to my car and lit a cigarette, took a sip of my Venti Coffee with two shots of espresso and started reading. A few years ago this girl, Justina Morley, used the promise of sex to lure Jason Sweeney into a trap where three of Sweeney’s best friends beat him to death in order to gain the $500 Sweeney had, which after being split gave each of them $125 to use to get high.

Now she’s in court on trial. It went on to say that she was on a date with kid pretending to be his girlfriend and she watched as the three boys beat him to death with a hatchet, a hammer and a brick. When they were finished they had a group hug and went off to buy Xanax, weed and heroin. After reading this I was intrigued and disgusted but part of me was kind of turned on to this sick little girl. Pure Evil, I thought. The past day and half I’ve been reading more and more about her looking for something to satisfy my desire. I can’t figure out why this sick twisted event and this evil manipulative teenage junkie is exciting me. Maybe she reminds me of my mother or my ex wife but I hate them. Hmmm.

So, I wrote a song about her. My partner in my band, The Julian, and I have been talking about making a new World Famous Crawlspace Brothers’ cd anyway and this song is perfect for it. Amazingly once I wrote it, I was no longer obsessed. I stopped staring at her picture hanging on my wall. I took it down and moved on to my next project.

So, here’s the lyrics. It’s a country song.

I saw your picture in the paper today

You looked so sad and blue

The headline said you’re the “Purest Evil”

And I just stared at you

You lured that boy with the promise of sex into the nearby isolated woods

‘Bet your face looked purty with the moon shinin’ down

As your three friends bludgeoned him real good

Justina, won’t you do something bad to me?

Justina, do me wrong.

Justina, won’t you set me free?

Justina, hear my song

First kid hit him with a hatchet to the head.

You smiled as he hit the ground.

Second kid hammered him with all of his might.

Third kid used a brick he found

You left a bloody mess where his face once was.

All for $125 each

Hope you got real high on the Xanax and weed.

Hope the heroin gave you what you need.

Justina, won’t you do something bad to me?

Justina, do me wrong.

Justina, won’t you set me free?

Justina, hear my song.

I hung your picture on my wall today.

I’ll dream of you at night.

Justina, won’t you do something bad to me?

And everything will be all right.

Leave a Reply

