Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap But I’m Having a Super Savings Sale on Good Deeds Done Even Cheaper


I was taught that you are supposed to be doing the right thing at all times. Take actions against my will. Help others. Do unto others as you would have done unto you. Treat people the way you want to be treated. What goes around comes around. It’s not about me. The best feeling in the world is to do something for someone else and expect nothing in return. It is even better to do something for someone else and not tell anyone. I try to live up to these sayings and a positive way of life.

Here are some thoughts on the subject of doing good things that have been rolling around in my head for a while. What if a person does good deeds for the wrong reasons such as ego or grandiosity? Say he or she wants the world to know how great he or she is? Many people think this is a horrible way to go about doing good deeds. I think that it doesn’t take away from the deed itself. For example, if you save a person from a burning building just so that you will be a “hero” in the community and not because it’s the instinctual right thing to do, does that take away from the fact that you saved someone’s life? I don’t believe it does. You do it for the thrill or the glory or the need to be recognized I think you’re an asshole but I’ll also appreciate the fact that you saved someone’s life.

As everyone knows I go to AA meetings. In the program, as we call it, we are taught to help others whenever the opportunity arises. We are taught to be humble. We are taught to do the wrong thing. So of course there a lot of people that like to show off and brag about the deeds they have done because it is in their alcoholic make-up. If a person does something good for another person just for the vainglory of it, it doesn’t take the good deed back. The deed is done just like the many bad things that we’ve all done. Unless the motives and bragging hurt someone besides just aggravate people, this person still did a good deed.

I’ve met a lot of people that are full of shit and hypocritical through the years that also do good things for others. They help other people on a daily basis and then are miserable towards everyone else. They contradict themselves in their behavior on a daily basis. They don’t practice what they preach and they want to be appreciated for the good they do. I’m not saying they help someone out then go home and beat up their wives or kids. I just mean that they don’t have much control of their negative feelings. My point is that no matter how despicable a person is, if they are doing good deeds then the deed itself is good. In a sense it doesn’t make them all bad. Just mostly bad. Ha.

I love to gossip. I get involved in conversations sometimes and we criticize people’s behavior and their character left and right. Then I always feel obligated to say at the end “Yeah, but look at the good things that person has done for other people”. I usually proceed to cite examples then some of my friends agree and some don’t.

I’m beginning to wonder if there was a point to even making my point but it’s an important. topic to me. Not because I run around doing good things for the wrong reason but because I like to see the good in people. Maybe that’s selfish too. Maybe I want them to see the good in me. In the end it really doesn’t matter. No good deed goes undone.

Leave a Reply

