Just Another Day of Email Anxiety


I wake up every morning and do my daily rituals. I urinate, make coffee, then sit and read through my three prayers and meditate briefly on my porch and light a cigarette waiting for the coffe to brew. I pray for people I know and don’t know and then I’m allowed to sit back and relax while checking my emails before I venture into my morning writing.

I’ve been getting close to 100 emails a day not including my spam folder the past few days. Ugh. Mostly because of a few thought to be simple actions I took last week.

A friend of mine sent me a link to a web site last week. He told me he was considering it right before he got his job after a year or so of unemployment. The site was a listing of numerous ways you can make money at home. At first I read through the call center jobs you can do from home and then I spotted a section about doing online surveys for cash and prizes. I jumped right into the surveys.

It explained briefly how to weed the scams from the real deal. The site has many links to various survey companies to start with. I started with a couple and made few dollars here and there. The only way to make a decent amount of money is to sign up for multiple surveys and jump on them as soon as you get them in your email. So I spent a few hours here and there filling out surveys and made a few dollars here and there. Some pay as low as 20 cents and as high as 8 dollars for 10 – 20 minutes of your time.

I’m still trying to get the hang of it. If you don’t get to the survey each company emails you fast then you may lose the opportunity to do it. The surveys fill up fast. Also, some surveys weed you out after about 5 minutes of work. I thought it would be easier than it is. Like any job, you have to go through trial and error and a training process to get good at it.

A few days this past week I was going crazy. I’m getting close to 1oo emails loaded with surveys and I have to jump right in ready or not. Coffee or no coffee. Writing or no writing and some of these product surveys can tire you out.

I love being on the computer whether I’m social networking, reading blogs, checking out unusual articles, downloading music, making videos or writing. I usually can spend most of my day on here and e content, The overload of emails has been wearing on me this seek and I’ve actually had to take breaks and watch movies to clear my head. I’ve even had panic attacks over the magnitude o emails that I have to address.

I force myself out of the situation and go out to meetings, talk to some friends, and watch a little TV, mostly movies and I feel better about it. I take a deep breath in the morning after my meditation and prayers and worry about it one email at a time. One survey at a time. I haven’t sat down to figure out how much I’ve made yet but I’m sure it’s not much. I decided that I’ll give it a month and see what happens. The worse that can happen is that I make a little bit of money which is more than what I was doing since losing my job.

Leave a Reply

