Global Warming & Cigarette Smoking


Heat first. Every year I try so hard not to complain about the heat. I try to deal with it and hide in the air conditioning until the summer is over. Problem is that my current living situation doesn’t allow me to smoke inside. I love sitting on my porch with my cigarettes, coffee and laptop when it’s less than 77 degrees but once the heat and humidity crawl in I go crazy. Sure, I’m sure you’re probably thinking “smoke less” or “quit smoking” but I don’t want to hear that. I don’t want to quit smoking. I love to smoke. For some reason I seem to be more creative when I’m smoking and drinking coffee. It’s n my head. I know that. I used to think that I would never be creative without drugs or drinking. That’s changed. So, I’d rather sweat it out on the porch just so I can smoke than work inside the cool air-conditioned house.

After this last month of being unemployed I’ve finally balanced my time. I spend so much time outside and so much time inside. I spend so much time looking for a job and so much time writing. I go to my meetings pretty much the same time every day. I go to bed and get up around the same time every day. It’s not a tight schedule but it’s better than the habits I was falling into. It might sound boring but it works for me until I find a job or the weather gets cooler or I make a living off of my art. The heat has at least helped force me to schedule a routine in my life.

My enemy has become an unexpected ally.

Leave a Reply

