Let’s Spend the Night Together


She told me that she thought I seemed desperate.


“Baby, I’m not desperate. I’m honest, to the point and I know what I want.” I said.

I can’t believe that these words were coming out of my mouth but it’s the way I felt. It’s the way I feel.

I used to be desperate. I was desperate for love. I was desperate for sex. I was desperate to be liked in any way possible. These feelings passed through the years as I’ve been rejected so many times and had so many successes. I’ve been on top of the world of love and I’ve been put through the ringer.

My confidence is back up after a year or so of getting my head together from all of the crap I’ve dealt with. I’m finally feeling good about myself because I’m taking care of myself these days. I purposely kept away from relationships and entanglements and now I’m ready. I think I’m ready. I’m ready to try.

I know what I want in a woman today. I know what I don’t want. I’m also not necessarily ready to jump in to anything too fast. Casual encounters are fine too. I have no fear of rejection. I have nothing to lose. So, I’ve been going for it

If I have an interest in a woman then I let her know and ask her out and see where it goes from there. I get to the point and I don’t care about the results. It’s a great feeling after spending years obsessing or being afraid. I feel free.

“Well here’s my number. Call or text me or something!” she said.

2 Responses to Let’s Spend the Night Together

  1. slpmartin says:

    When in college I worked at a pipe tobacco shop and each Friday a man would stand on the corner asking women if they wanted to have sex…to my amazement…he was never there long…and I wondered about it all the way home as I walked alone…your poem reminded me of that fellow…cheers.!

  2. richhillenjr says:

    I wish I had the guts to try that one. Maybe someday.

Leave a Reply

